Posted by: clearspaces60 | September 17, 2015

Are You Attracting Chaos or Order?

What? Wow!  I never thought of it quite that way.  The question had been posed to me by a minister who was a guest speaker at our church, a Center for Spiritual Living .  He has become a dear friend and I truly appreciate his directness.  I had asked him for advice about handling some feelings and fears that were coming up from past experiences.  Our new minister was starting the following week and I did not want to let any of this muck cloud my vision.

When he asked me this question, I had one of those light bulb moments.  Wow, this applies to everything, my home, our business, my writing, my constant battle with paperwork.  Sure I had worked on the “fact” that “I” was creating a cluttered mess or stacks of paperwork in various stages of action or thinking about scenarios that I did not want to recreate.  This was bigger than that, a huge reminder about my deepest thoughts and beliefs.

Was I willing to let of all of that and put my attention towards attracting Order?

I had intentionally done this before and could not believe how long it has been since I had given this some serious thought. About five years ago I took a leadership class with the minister who retired earlier this year and during one class I mentioned that my resume had always included the qualification “Creates order out of chaos”.  At that time I was looking for a job but had not worked outside of the home for many years. He said, “Why do you want to work for a place that is in chaos?”

Are you kidding me!!!  Did that one comment explain why every job I took was always in a state of chaos that I needed to change or transform or quite often I would try very hard and hit a wall because the very people who hired me to change things did not want anything to change if it involved them.  Now I know that was a really long sentence but that is how I used to feel, breathless-and not in a good way-like I could never keep up with the madness around me.  I was always at odds with it.  I usually had a few people in my corner but it always felt like we were battling the tide.  That qualification disappeared from my resume after that class.

Now, right now, how was I going to flip this around and focus on attracting Order?  Well, first I looked around my life and found a place where I already attract Order.

My clothes, my closet and dresser drawers. I am good at going through my clothes and giving away what I no longer love or wear regularly.  And in the past few months I have used two books to help me release even more by being more heartfelt and discriminating. Breathing Room, Open Your Heart by decluttering your home by Lauren Rosenfeld and Dr. Melva Green and The Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo.  I will write more about my process and these two books in a future post.

I looked at the “facts”. In the course of one morning I went through ALL of the clothes in my closet and dresser as well as my shoes and purses.  I packed up lots of beautiful things that I no longer love, some that I still love but will most likely not wear again and anything that brought up any negative feeling.  I then took a look at what areas are “attracted” to this area.  All of these things are in our bedroom and I make our bed nearly every day.  It gives me a sense of order and accomplishment plus it is a huge space to sort things out AND everything must be off the bed every night.  That led me to think about laundering the clothes.  I keep my washer and dryer cleared and dusted since they are in the garage (another area to tackle). Our clean clothes are only in a few places- the dryer, hanging on a rod to dry, in a basket or put away.  They never land in limbo on a bed, chair, couch or floor (teenager’s bedroom exempted).

Seeing an area where I have attracted Order has helped me allow it in other areas, especially my muddled menopausal thinking.  How freeing that I don’t have to create Order.  I know that I cannot create energy, only direct it and the same applies with Order.  I want to create a larger opening to allow it into more areas of my life.

A few affirmations have helped me solidify this way of thinking and being. As soon as I attract a little more Order and can properly acknowledge the authors and sources, I will share them with you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

ClearSpaces

A place for peace and space to breathe

New Thought Evolutionary

Creating The Beloved Community - Together

Unity Spiritual Center Update

A Behind the Scenes Look at Going the the Next Level

Jim Lockard On Wine

Wine Appreciation and Wine Lifestyle Blog

Collective Virtuosity

Music Lessons for Leaders

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

Jenny Kissed Me

Getting back to writing poetry

Over Easy

Notes from the Estrogen Files

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

