Posted by: clearspaces60 | January 11, 2017

What A Year! What’s Next?

Let’s return to December 29, 2016 – Two hours before my writers group

 This year is nearly over, the rest of today and two more full days. What a year it has been! The tragedies, Acts of God and Acts of Man, the blessings, Acts of God and Acts of Man, the loss of humanity, the birth of new souls.  How do we embrace or release all we may have experienced personally?  There may be infinite answers to this question but one I will continue to give is – Do Away With Resolutions!

Whatever you want to change about yourself or your life, add or subtract, transform or destroy, resolutions are not the answer.  If you really think they are your answer, then why not change today and not on January 1st or 2nd?  How about beginning, ending, changing, adding or subtracting whatever it is; habits, thoughts, routines, schedules, meals, exercise, organizing, decluttering, procrastination, laziness, apathy, stuckness – on an hourly, daily, weekly or monthly basis.

What can we give ourselves now instead of the self-destructive habit of, “Let me get through (fill in the blank), then I can work on (fill in the blank).”  Current example I have heard numerous times over the past month, from my own lips as well, “Let me get through the holidays, then I can think about getting new kitchen countertops and a sink in the coming year.”  The very thought of thinking about that now brings up already mounting decisions about money, projected income, bills, debt, loans, taxes and all that needs to be done by year-end which is Saturday!!  Yes, we need to get this work done, budget for it, plan it out, but not today!!  I know some of you are with me on this.

What can I give myself now?  I struggled with this question because is it fear, procrastination, avoidance, evasion, limitation, overwhelm or exhaustion? Most likely some of each, please let me know if you have other answers.

I realized I could give myself permission to accept where I am and not feel guilty or pressured to think about and deal with everything that needs to be done, planned, thought about, discussed or researched.  I know there is no such thing as multi-tasking and my brain can only do one thing at a time, even if my attention shifts for a second.  My body can multi-task, thank heavens!, but my mind can only focus on one thing at a time, there is research to back this up, I promise you.

With permission granted, now what? I do want to make changes for a better now, tomorrow, next month and all through next year.  What can I do differently that supports me in this quest?  How about identifying these aspects-tangible or abstract and write them down in a free-flowing stream of consciousness fashion.  No categories or editing!!  Then, what if I chose one to focus on each month, and if things go well, maybe one or more will happen!!

Now once a month, that gave me pause, I certainly know myself well enough that this is not going to happen on the first of each month.  What would work for me? I was born on the 11th and I do love that number so maybe I will mark that on my calendar each month and check in with my list and myself and give it a try. I will select one thing on January 11, 2017.  See you then if not sooner.

Happy New Year! May 2017 bring out the better angels in each of us!

Today is January 11, 2017

 I choose to post on my Blog on the 11th of each month with my current additions and/or subtractions.  This month I am adding walking several times a week and subtracting items that do not inspire joy and beauty in our home. I will keep you posted on my progress.  I would love to hear about yours too!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

ClearSpaces

A place for peace and space to breathe

New Thought Evolutionary

Creating The Beloved Community - Together

Unity Spiritual Center Update

A Behind the Scenes Look at Going the the Next Level

Jim Lockard On Wine

Wine Appreciation and Wine Lifestyle Blog

Collective Virtuosity

Music Lessons for Leaders

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

Jenny Kissed Me

Getting back to writing poetry

Over Easy

Notes from the Estrogen Files

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

