Posted by: clearspaces60 | April 19, 2017

Living with the Questions of Clutter

There is a famous quotation by Rainer Maria Rilke that invites us to “live the questions”.  I love this quote and it pops up in my life from time to time, last week it showed up three times.  To me that is a sign to write something about it. What to write? I had to wait for the answers.

I received this e-mail this morning and it touched my heart. https://unclutterer.com/2017/04/18/saying-goodbye-musical-instruments/#comment-260866

Unclutterer is a great website, has a FaceBook page and you can receive e-mails notifying you of their posts.  There is a book that I have not read-yet, several bloggers, all professional and, well- dare I say it, organized.  I wanted to respond to this post this morning but thought, who I am to tell this guy what I think he should do?  Even though he did ask for feedback.  All day long I have either been cleaning the house or paying bills or sorting through and filing paperwork.  I also wanted to write a blog today, but wasn’t sure I had time.  The response to this blog and creating my own blog post have been simmering along all day.

I finally looked at the comments to his post and as I suspected they were varied.  I was not surprised to find a deep emotional connection to musical instruments.  I think this is a global feeling as music is in all of us.
Here is my comment:

“I agree with a few of the others, you are not ready to decide yet. I have a couple of friends who attended Berklee which means you are extremely gifted and talented. Since you cleaned out your basement, maybe you can set up your drums and sit behind them once in a while. Do your children know about this part of your life? If they do and they aren’t that interested, maybe your talents skipped a generation.

We have many musical instruments in our home that see little use, but I believe that this kind of thing comes in cycles. I have a close friend who plays violin, but she set hers down for well over 10 years, she plays the same very expensive violin, but now she plays for the joy and passion and her love of music. I have two friends who have baby grand pianos that are being “borrowed” by two different churches. So the church situation is a possibility. I also have a friend who was a drummer for years, he does not play very often, but when he does he is awesome and his son is now a professional drummer.

This is NOT clutter, this is history, the present and perhaps your future or someone else’s in your family. I strongly suggest that you give this some time, live with this question for a time.

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.”

― Rainer Maria Rilke”

Now I certainly can see where my comment needs some editing, but when you are in the moment and afraid if you hit the return or enter key at the wrong time and your words will be posted before you are ready, I chose to speak from my heart and release it.

Whether it is releasing my words or releasing clutter, we must live the questions.  There is not one right definition of clutter.  Spouses, siblings, parents, children and friends can certainly attest to this when working on designing or organizing a space.  What helps us when we are working with someone else is asking those questions and not assuming the answers will come immediately.  We must honor that something may be important to another person whether we understand or agree with them.   If this is important to you or them, brings up strong memories of joy with the possibility of more joy, then let’s sit with it for a designated period of time and see what answers come to us and come through us.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

ClearSpaces

A place for peace and space to breathe

New Thought Evolutionary

Creating The Beloved Community - Together

Unity Spiritual Center Update

A Behind the Scenes Look at Going the the Next Level

Jim Lockard On Wine

Wine Appreciation and Wine Lifestyle Blog

Collective Virtuosity

Music Lessons for Leaders

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

Jenny Kissed Me

Getting back to writing poetry

Over Easy

Notes from the Estrogen Files

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

